YOUR COMPOUND / YOUR QUESTIONS

Tirzepatide.

Tirzepatide activates GIP and GLP-1 receptors to help regulate blood glucose and food intake. Mounjaro and Zepbound have different treatment indications, while provider discussions often focus on finding a useful maintenance dose with manageable side effects.

Research focus: Appetite, body weight and blood-glucose control.

Randomized trials & product labelingSources checked October 12, 2026
View all compounds →

Choose a compound to open its research, documentation and calculator.

QUICK REFERENCE

The essentials.

Checked October 15, 2026
FDA status
FDA status and scope

Mounjaro and Zepbound: approval applies to the named products and indications.

Official source ↗
FDA-approved products
Half-life
Half-life: source and route

Elimination half-life after subcutaneous administration.

Half-life describes concentration falling by half. It does not set a dosing interval, a storage period or a drug-test detection window.

Kinetics source ↗
About 5 daysHuman · product label
Diluent / formulation
Diluent and formulation

Approved injections are supplied as solutions; do not add diluent. Tablets are not mixed. A separately supplied powder requires its own formulation documentation.

Bacteriostatic water contains a preservative; plain sterile water does not. Preservative presence does not by itself establish compatibility or a mixed medicine’s usable period.

Preparation source ↗
Ready-to-use approved productsProduct labels
START WITH THE EVIDENCE

What the documentation tells us.

Evidence context

The label instructions below apply to the named prescription products and their indications. A matching peptide name on another vial does not establish an equivalent formulation.

Check that a source concerns the same molecule, formulation, route and population. A study of cells, animals or a different product cannot confirm the contents of a vial.

Human clinical trials and US product labels, alongside labeled provider perspectives.

Learn to read a study →
DOSAGE & SCHEDULE CONTEXT

Community schedules and research routes.

Dosage & schedule options.

Reading these schedules

Each entry keeps one schedule’s amount, frequency and cycle together. Community references, individual reports, clinical trials and prescription products describe different kinds of use. A missing duration or break stays marked as not reported.

Amounts describe mass in mg or mcg. Syringe units describe volume and depend on concentration. A cycle break is different from days off within a week.

Choose an option to explore its amounts, timing and cycle.

Prescription productZepbound · adult weight managementSubcutaneous4-week starter stage; ongoing treatment thereafter

Dose
2.5 mg initially; maintenance 5, 10 or 15 mg
How often
Once weekly, on the same day
Route
Subcutaneous
Duration
4-week starter stage; ongoing treatment thereafter
Break after cycle
No scheduled cycle break in the label
Dose changes within this protocol
WhenAmount & frequency
Weeks 1–42.5 mg once weekly
Week 5 onward5 mg once weekly
Further increase, if needed+2.5 mg after ≥4 weeks on the current dose
Weight-management maintenance5, 10 or 15 mg once weekly; 15 mg maximum

7.5 and 12.5 mg are intermediate strengths. For the sleep-apnea indication, maintenance is 10 or 15 mg weekly.

Prescription productMounjaro · adult type 2 diabetesSubcutaneousDose increases depend on glucose control and tolerability

Dose
2.5 mg initially; up to 15 mg weekly in adults
How often
Once weekly, on the same day
Route
Subcutaneous
Duration
Dose increases depend on glucose control and tolerability
Break after cycle
No scheduled cycle break in the label
Dose changes within this protocol
WhenAmount & frequency
Initial amount2.5 mg once weekly
If more glucose control is needed+2.5 mg after ≥4 weeks on the current dose
Adult ceiling15 mg once weekly

Adult product instructions; pediatric instructions differ.

Reported instructionsMonthly stages · reported provider planInjected; injection type not reportedThree-month plan; first eight injections completed at the time of reporting

Dose
2 → 4.5 → 7 mg per weekly injection
How often
Once weekly
Route
Injected; injection type not reported
Duration
Three-month plan; first eight injections completed at the time of reporting
Break after cycle
Not reported
Dose changes within this protocol
WhenAmount & frequency
Month 12 mg once weekly
Month 24.5 mg once weekly
Month 3 · planned7 mg once weekly

A reported plan with a future third stage, separate from the prescription-product schedules.

Individual community reportDivided weekly amount · reported useInjected; injection type not reportedNot reported

Dose
3.75 mg per administration
How often
Every 3.5 days
Route
Injected; injection type not reported
Duration
Not reported
Break after cycle
Not reported

7.5 mg total over seven days in this individual account.

Reconstitution & storage ↓
FROM THE COMMUNITY / WITH THE CONTEXT

Community research & perspectives.

About community labels

Community identifies source origin. It does not certify independent funding, medical credentials or the strength of a claim. Source types distinguish published reports, professional explanations and public discussions.

Explore reports, explanations and discussions from medical practices, researchers, suppliers and community members. The badges identify the source’s origin and evidence type.

How to read these source labels →
CommunityClinic explainer

Individualizing tirzepatide maintenance

Ro: evidence & source context

This explainer is not an original trial or a survey of community schedules.

Source relationship: Commercial telehealth and weight-management provider.

Ro discusses choosing maintenance according to response and tolerability, including continuing an effective treatment dose long term.

Provider perspective · commercial care service

FORMULATION FIRST

Reconstitution, storage and devices.

Product-specific handling

A peptide name and vial mass cannot determine a compatible diluent, powder displacement, storage temperature or discard date. Follow the exact product’s instructions and your pharmacist’s directions.

The injection guide concerns clinician-prescribed subcutaneous medicines; it does not establish that a research-labeled material can be injected.

Start with the formulation: dry powder, prepared solution, pen, tablet and topical product can have different instructions.

Storage: before and after opening.

US product label

Zepbound · single-dose pen or vial

Before opening
Refrigerate at 2–8°C (36–46°F), protected from light.
After mixing / first use
An unrefrigerated single-dose unit may be kept at ≤30°C (86°F) for a total of 21 days; discard after that limit or after use.
Handling & discard
Do not freeze. Multi-dose vials, KwikPens and Mounjaro presentations have their own in-use rules; identify the exact presentation.
Zepbound · storage section ↗

Device and concentration come before syringe units.

Approved tirzepatide presentations include pens and vials. Single-dose presentations use 0.5 mL per dose; multi-dose vials and KwikPens use 0.6 mL per dose in the reviewed labels. Follow the instructions for the dispensed presentation.

A prescribed compounded vial has its own concentration and handling directions. Confirm the amount in mg, concentration in mg/mL and corresponding mL with the pharmacy. Branded ready-to-use products are not reconstitution recipes for research powder.

Product presentations and handling ↗
THE EVERYDAY CONTEXT

Habits & tracking that help.

General health habits and consistent observations help you assess changes. They are not evidence that a peptide’s effects will be amplified.

Include movement and strength work

Choose activity that fits your health and ability. Aerobic movement and muscle-strengthening work are part of general adult activity guidance.

CDC · adult activity ↗

Keep a consistent sleep routine

Use a regular sleep/wake schedule and note changes in sleep quality alongside symptoms or training.

CDC · sleep habits ↗

What to record: Track food intake, appetite, activity and tolerability together. Appetite control should still leave room for adequate meals; review persistent eating difficulties with the treating clinician.

GO TO THE ORIGINAL

Documentation behind Tirzepatide.

About source checks

Check dates are editorial references, not a medical review certificate. Labels and evidence can change; consult the linked current document.

Study details, timing & schedule comparisons
Provider perspective · Ro

An effective maintenance dose can stay lower.

Important tirzepatide safety context

The labels carry a thyroid C-cell tumor boxed warning, with unknown human risk. MTC history, MEN 2 and serious hypersensitivity are contraindications. Gastrointestinal effects, pancreatitis, dehydration and interactions with glucose-lowering medicines also need review.

Full warnings and interactions ↗

Ro describes maintenance as a dose chosen with the prescriber according to response and tolerability. Some people continue an effective treatment amount long term; “maintenance” does not necessarily mean reducing it after reaching a weight goal.

That supports a practical conversation about benefits, side effects and adequate nutrition. It does not establish a universal four-week pause, automatic step-down or a schedule based only on appetite. Extending intervals to 8–10 days or using “microdoses” falls outside the labeled weekly plan.

Read the provider’s full discussion ↗

Missed dose

The label allows taking it within four days (96 hours). After that, skip it and resume the usual weekly day.

Missed-dose instructions ↗

Changing the weekly day

Leave at least three days (72 hours) between doses when changing the day. This exception does not create an every-three-days regimen.

Weekly-day instructions ↗

Timing and route

Subcutaneous, with or without food, at any time of day. Rotate abdomen or thigh sites; another person can inject the back of the upper arm.

Administration instructions ↗
THE MATH, EXPLAINED

Tirzepatide calculator.

About calculator examples

Opening values and worked examples illustrate arithmetic; they are not preparation instructions or recommended amounts. Selecting a compound labels the calculation and does not supply a dose or powder-volume correction.

Enter the documented vial mass, preparation information and target amount to see how mass and volume connect.

An arithmetic example

20 mg in an assumed final 1 mL gives 20 mg/mL. An entered 1 mg corresponds to 0.05 mL, or 5 U-100 units, with 20 theoretical portions before losses.

YOUR CALCULATION WORKSPACE

Three tools. Clear numbers.

Open focused view →
01 / YOUR INPUTS

Vial → dose → syringe

mg
mL
Slider range: 1 to 20 mg, in 1 mg steps. Click a labeled value to select it. Type exact decimal amounts in the field above.
Advanced Volume & syringe settings
02 / YOUR RESULTCalculated

Tirzepatide

Estimate · assumes 1 mL added = total volume

U-100 syringe1 mL capacity · 100 units
Amount per dose
1 mg

1,000 mcg

Full doses per vial
5

Theoretical · before losses

Syringe amount per dose
20units

0.2 mL

Amount remaining
0 mg

After 5 full doses

U-100 volume scale

Illustration only · calculated value, without rounding

Concentration & remaining liquid
Concentration
5 mg/mL
Per U-100 unit
50 mcg
Full portions in vial
5
Theoretical remainder
0 mL

Saved calculations stay on this device.

See the calculation

Concentration = mass ÷ final volume

5 mg ÷ 1 mL = 5 mg/mL

Volume = target mass ÷ concentration

1 mg ÷ 5 mg/mL = 0.2 mL

U-100 markings = volume × 100

0.2 mL × 100 = 20 units

Complete portions = floor(vial mass ÷ amount per portion).

Displayed numbers are rounded for readability; the calculation uses unrounded values.

Essential Always on

Remembers your privacy choice and any color theme you select. The calculator and research pages work with this alone.

Advertising Not used

Advertising personalization and Google signals are disabled.

Read the privacy & storage page →