YOUR COMPOUND / YOUR QUESTIONS

MOTS-c.

MOTS-c is a short mitochondria-derived signal studied in cellular energy regulation and metabolic adaptation. Clinic and community discussions connect it with exercise and body-composition goals; the original experiments here measured effects in cells and mice.

Research focus: Metabolic signaling and exercise-related interest.

Preclinical metabolic research · community and clinic descriptionsSources checked October 12, 2026
View all compounds →

Choose a compound to open its research, documentation and calculator.

QUICK REFERENCE

The essentials.

Checked October 15, 2026
FDA status
FDA status and scope

No FDA-approved drug product for this catalog material. Compounding eligibility and approval are separate questions.

Official source ↗
Not FDA approved
Half-life
Half-life: source and route

PeptIQ’s reported value has not been matched here to a primary human PK study for the exact molecule and route. Treat it as a reference estimate, not an established dosing interval.

Half-life describes concentration falling by half. It does not set a dosing interval, a storage period or a drug-test detection window.

Kinetics source ↗
~1 hourCommunity reference · unverified
Diluent / formulation
Diluent and formulation

PeptIQ lists bacteriostatic water for repeated-vial workflows. That preference is not a compatibility study for a particular formulation; the actual product or pharmacy instructions determine the liquid.

Bacteriostatic water contains a preservative; plain sterile water does not. Preservative presence does not by itself establish compatibility or a mixed medicine’s usable period.

Preparation source ↗
BAC water · community-reportedCommunity reference
START WITH THE EVIDENCE

What the documentation tells us.

Evidence context

The animal and cell findings do not establish a human weight-loss dose or injection schedule.

Check that a source concerns the same molecule, formulation, route and population. A study of cells, animals or a different product cannot confirm the contents of a vial.

Preclinical metabolic findings, with clinic and online protocols labeled separately.

Other names you may encounter: MOTSc.

Learn to read a study →
DOSAGE & SCHEDULE CONTEXT

Community schedules and research routes.

Dosage & schedule options.

Reading these schedules

Each entry keeps one schedule’s amount, frequency and cycle together. Community references, individual reports, clinical trials and prescription products describe different kinds of use. A missing duration or break stays marked as not reported.

Amounts describe mass in mg or mcg. Syringe units describe volume and depend on concentration. A cycle break is different from days off within a week.

Choose an option to explore its amounts, timing and cycle.

Reported protocolFour injections · periodic blockSubcutaneous4 injections in a 20-day window (20 mg total)

Dose
5 mg per injection
How often
Every 5 days: days 1, 6, 11 and 16
Route
Subcutaneous
Duration
4 injections in a 20-day window (20 mg total)
Break after cycle
4 months after the block
Time of day
Morning before food

Four 5 mg administrations total 20 mg within the 20-day block.

Community guideOnce-weekly optionSubcutaneousNot reported

Dose
5 mg per injection
How often
Once weekly (5 mg/week)
Route
Subcutaneous
Duration
Not reported
Break after cycle
Not reported

Community guideTwice-weekly optionSubcutaneousNot reported

Dose
2.5 mg per injection
How often
Twice weekly (5 mg/week)
Route
Subcutaneous
Duration
Not reported
Break after cycle
Not reported

Community guideThree-times-weekly optionSubcutaneousNot reported

Dose
3.3 mg per injection
How often
Three times weekly (9.9 mg/week)
Route
Subcutaneous
Duration
Not reported
Break after cycle
Not reported

Community guideSmaller daily amountsSubcutaneousNot reported

Dose
0.5–1 mg per day (500–1,000 mcg)
How often
Daily (3.5–7 mg over 7 days)
Route
Subcutaneous
Duration
Not reported
Break after cycle
Not reported

This option totals 3.5–7 mg over a seven-day week.

Community guideLarger intermittent amountsSubcutaneousNot reported

Dose
5 mg per injection
How often
Two or three times weekly (10 or 15 mg/week)
Route
Subcutaneous
Duration
Not reported
Break after cycle
Not reported

Reported protocolLonger injection cycleSubcutaneous8–12 weeks

Dose
5 mg per injection
How often
Three to five times weekly (15–25 mg/week)
Route
Subcutaneous
Duration
8–12 weeks
Break after cycle
4–8 weeks after the cycle
Time of day
Morning or 30–60 minutes before exercise

Individual community reportIntermittent use after SS-31 · reported sequenceNot reported4–6 weeks initially, then 2–4 weeks

Dose
5 mg per administration initially; then 10 mg per administration
How often
Three times weekly initially; then once weekly
Route
Not reported
Duration
4–6 weeks initially, then 2–4 weeks
Break after cycle
Not reported
Dose changes within this protocol
WhenAmount & frequency
First 4–6 weeks5 mg three times weekly
Next 2–4 weeks10 mg once weekly

This individual sequence began after 10–20 days of SS-31. It is separate from simultaneous use.

Reconstitution & storage ↓
FROM THE COMMUNITY / WITH THE CONTEXT

Community research & perspectives.

About community labels

Community identifies source origin. It does not certify independent funding, medical credentials or the strength of a claim. Source types distinguish published reports, professional explanations and public discussions.

Explore reports, explanations and discussions from medical practices, researchers, suppliers and community members. The badges identify the source’s origin and evidence type.

How to read these source labels →
CommunityClinic explainer

A periodic block schedule

Perfect B: evidence & source context

Timing wording conflicts within the article.

Source relationship: Commercial treatment provider.

The clinic describes four administrations followed by a longer break.

Clinic description · not a controlled trial

CommunityVendor explainer

Daily versus weekly proposals

PeptIQ: evidence & source context

No direct human comparison establishes a preferred schedule.

Source relationship: Promotes a peptide-tracking app.

The article compares smaller daily amounts with larger intermittent amounts. Our guide separates the weekly arithmetic from the proposed AMPK rationale.

Online explanation · commercial app

FORMULATION FIRST

Reconstitution, storage and devices.

Product-specific handling

A peptide name and vial mass cannot determine a compatible diluent, powder displacement, storage temperature or discard date. Follow the exact product’s instructions and your pharmacist’s directions.

The injection guide concerns clinician-prescribed subcutaneous medicines; it does not establish that a research-labeled material can be injected.

Start with the formulation: dry powder, prepared solution, pen, tablet and topical product can have different instructions.

Storage: before and after opening.

Research-vial reference

Community-reported ranges
Dry powder · reported shelf life
18–24 months
After mixing · reported window
21–30 days
Refrigeration · reported range
2–8°C · 36–46°F
Freezer
Dry powder only in the reference
Room temperature · reported limit
Under 12 hours
Handling note
Keep the lot label, mixing date and documented discard date together.

5 mg is not a fixed number of syringe units.

On a U-100 syringe, 25 units = 0.25 mL. That volume contains 5 mg only at 20 mg/mL. At 10 mg/mL, the same 25 units contains 2.5 mg. These are concentration examples, not mixing instructions.

Check the arithmetic with your documented inputs ↓

Storage claims conflict. MOTSc.com says seven days after mixing, while Path To Peptides says 30 days. A website’s generic number does not establish stability or sterility for another formulation. Use documented formulation-specific handling and discard information; refrigeration alone cannot verify a usable period. Seven-day claim ↗ · 30-day claim ↗

THE EVERYDAY CONTEXT

Habits & tracking that help.

General health habits and consistent observations help you assess changes. They are not evidence that a peptide’s effects will be amplified.

Include movement and strength work

Choose activity that fits your health and ability. Aerobic movement and muscle-strengthening work are part of general adult activity guidance.

CDC · adult activity ↗

Keep a consistent sleep routine

Use a regular sleep/wake schedule and note changes in sleep quality alongside symptoms or training.

CDC · sleep habits ↗

What to record: Track food intake, appetite, activity and tolerability together. Appetite control should still leave room for adequate meals; review persistent eating difficulties with the treating clinician.

GO TO THE ORIGINAL

Documentation behind MOTS-c.

About source checks

Check dates are editorial references, not a medical review certificate. Labels and evidence can change; consult the linked current document.

Study details, timing & schedule comparisons
Clinic example · Perfect B

A block of four, then a break.

The clinic’s example places 5 mg administrations on days 1, 6, 11 and 16: 20 mg across the block. The final administration is on day 16 of the described 20-day window, not day 20.

  1. Day 15 mg
  2. Day 65 mg
  3. Day 115 mg
  4. Day 165 mg
Read the clinic’s full account ↗

Weekly totals: the arithmetic matters.

Why these schedules are not interchangeable

These comparisons show arithmetic, not bioequivalence. There is no established conversion from a weekly total to an equally safe or effective daily schedule. Clinic explainers and commercial online guides are not head-to-head clinical trials.

Path To Peptides gives these three examples. Its 3.3 mg entry totals 9.9 mg, rounded to about 10 mg weekly.

Amount each timeReported frequencyWeekly total
5 mgOnce weekly5 mg
2.5 mgTwice weekly5 mg
3.3 mgThree times weekly9.9 mg
Original online weekly comparison ↗

Cycle length belongs to its source. Lamkin’s 8–12-week example accompanies 5 mg per injection three to five times weekly—15–25 mg weekly. Its longer cycle cannot simply be attached to the lower weekly amounts above. Check the clinic’s full schedule ↗

Daily “microdosing” and AMPK

PeptIQ argues for more consistent AMPK signaling with smaller daily amounts. That is a proposed rationale; the article does not provide a human comparison proving steady signaling, better outcomes or lower risk. Read the publisher’s rationale ↗

Morning, fasted or before exercise?

Lamkin favors mornings or 30–60 minutes before exercise. Perfect B’s detailed instructions say morning before food, but its opening summary says bedtime. These descriptions do not establish a best time or a requirement to fast. Lamkin’s timing description ↗ · Perfect B’s differing wording ↗

What the safety evidence can tell us.

About reported risks and precautions

Clinic pages discuss injection-site reactions and possible glucose-lowering effects, especially alongside metabolic medicines. They also advise caution around pregnancy, breastfeeding and active cancer. These are practitioner precautions, not a complete, regulator-approved contraindication or interaction list. Reliable human adverse-event rates are not established by the linked explainers.

FDA identifies limited human exposure information and concerns about immunogenicity, peptide impurities and product characterization. The schedules above do not resolve those gaps; neither “research use only” nor a clinic’s description constitutes drug approval. Read FDA’s MOTs-C entry ↗

THE MATH, EXPLAINED

MOTS-c calculator.

About calculator examples

Opening values and worked examples illustrate arithmetic; they are not preparation instructions or recommended amounts. Selecting a compound labels the calculation and does not supply a dose or powder-volume correction.

Enter the documented vial mass, preparation information and target amount to see how mass and volume connect.

An arithmetic example

20 mg in an assumed final 1 mL gives 20 mg/mL. An entered 1 mg corresponds to 0.05 mL, or 5 U-100 units, with 20 theoretical portions before losses.

YOUR CALCULATION WORKSPACE

Three tools. Clear numbers.

Open focused view →
01 / YOUR INPUTS

Vial → dose → syringe

mg
mL
Slider range: 1 to 20 mg, in 1 mg steps. Click a labeled value to select it. Type exact decimal amounts in the field above.
Advanced Volume & syringe settings
02 / YOUR RESULTCalculated

MOTS-c

Estimate · assumes 1 mL added = total volume

U-100 syringe1 mL capacity · 100 units
Amount per dose
1 mg

1,000 mcg

Full doses per vial
5

Theoretical · before losses

Syringe amount per dose
20units

0.2 mL

Amount remaining
0 mg

After 5 full doses

U-100 volume scale

Illustration only · calculated value, without rounding

Concentration & remaining liquid
Concentration
5 mg/mL
Per U-100 unit
50 mcg
Full portions in vial
5
Theoretical remainder
0 mL

Saved calculations stay on this device.

See the calculation

Concentration = mass ÷ final volume

5 mg ÷ 1 mL = 5 mg/mL

Volume = target mass ÷ concentration

1 mg ÷ 5 mg/mL = 0.2 mL

U-100 markings = volume × 100

0.2 mL × 100 = 20 units

Complete portions = floor(vial mass ÷ amount per portion).

Displayed numbers are rounded for readability; the calculation uses unrounded values.

Essential Always on

Remembers your privacy choice and any color theme you select. The calculator and research pages work with this alone.

Advertising Not used

Advertising personalization and Google signals are disabled.

Read the privacy & storage page →